Shri Phagu Chauhan
Prof. (Dr) H.N. Prasad
       (Vice Chancellor)
             (Pro-Vice Chancellor)
Col. Manoj Mishra
Home Calendars Contact Us PU Mail
Seminars & Conferences
Awards & Recognitions
Recruitment / Appointment
Gender Sensitization Cell
Grievance Cell
Placement Cell
Anti Ragging
Right to Information (RTI)
Right to Service (RTS)
Centenary Year (1917-2017)
Annual Report
National Service Scheme
P.U. Journal
Digital Learning

Department of Persian

The post graduate Department of Persian, Patna University is one of the oldest departments of Patna University. It was established in the year 1917 with the foundation of P.U. and its 1st batch of student came out successfully in 1919. The department is actively engaged in Post graduate teaching and research work. Prior to 1952 CE the Department was a part of Patna College. However, as a result of promulgation of Patna University Act in the year 1952 CE the post graduate Department of Persian was separated from Patna College and allotted a separate building. Now it is situated on the bank of The Ganga River and located at Darbhanga House, Rani Block of Patna University. The department of Persian is the oldest department in Bihar and Eastern U.P. which provides Advanced Research in Persian Language and Literature along with the training of spoken Persian. Due to huge treasure of Persian Manuscripts in Bihar, the responsibility of the Persian Department of Patna University has become more important and it is collaborating with National Manuscripts Mission, New Delhi and Khuda Baksh Oriental Public Library, Patna in this field. The department has been served by a number of eminent scholars of International repute and also produced many important literary personalities. Some of them are as follows: • Prof. Abdul Mannan “Bedil” - Author and Poet • Dr Shamsuddin Ahmad “Shams Maneri” - Writer and Poet • Dr Iqbal Hussain (Member of B.P.S.C.) – Awardees of Certificate of Honour for Outstanding Contribution to Persian Language and Literature by the President of Indian Republic. • Prof. Ataur Rahman “Ata” Kakawi - Do • Prof. Syed Hasan (Chairman, Bihar Madarsa Education Board) - Do The department is a symbol of Indo-Iranian literary and socio cultural understanding. The scholars of these Persian speaking countries visit the department several times. The teachers and students of the department also visited Iran to attend seminars/symposium/workshop etc. Two students of department visited the Iran in the current year on Iranian Government invitation. Iran culture house, New Delhi organized a fifteen day Refresher course in Modern Persian in the department Persian P.U. The teachers and scholars of Bihar, Bengal, Assam and U.P. attended the course successfully. Prof. Md. Siddique (Ex. Head Department of Persian P.U.) Memorial lecture is organized in the department every year. In December 2016 three day XXXIV All India Persian Teachers International Conference was organized in the department of Persian, Patna University 26-28 December 2016. Persian scholars of different countries including India participated and presented their valuable articles. First Head: Dr Azimuddin Ahmad Present Head: Dr. Md. Sadique Hussain.